top of page

Chapter History

The Gamma Omicron Sigma Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was charted on Sept. 29, 1962 in Jacksonville, Florida. The chapter was charted under the leadership of Southeast Region Syntaktes Evelyn Hood of Atlanta, Georgia.


Members of Gamma Omicron Sigma have worked on many national projects over the years such as Operation BigBookBag, Hattie McDaniel Cancer Awareness initiatives, Swim 1922 and the Youth Symposium. They have been on local television and radio stations and in newspapers promoting projects in the community. The members have also awarded scholarships to deserving high school and college students. 


Gamma Omicron Sigma sponsors two undergraduate chapters in Jacksonville.  Twenty-eight young ladies charted Delta Upsilon Chapter at Edward Waters College on April 10, 1971. Five young ladies charted Rho Phi Chapter at the University of North Florida on March 11, 2009. Gamma Omicron Sigma also served as the initial sponsoring graduate chapter for Lambda Rho Chapter at the University of Florida in Gainesville for nine years. Eight young ladies charted that chapter on April 21, 1990.

Charter Members

Frenchie S. Knight


Dorothy K. Owens

Ruth D. Brown

Marie L. Jackson

Sylvia A. Bartley

Rubye L. Wilson

Fannie Simmons

Alice Mack Turner


Chapter Presidents

1st: Frenchie Knight

2nd: Dorothy K. Owens

3rd: Annette Cunningham

4th: Emma L. Feacher

5th: Rosalee S. Way

6th: Marie L. Jackson

7th: Tura M. Kennedy

8th: Ruthine Tidwell

9th: Jennifer A. Gunn

10th: Dessie P. Mathews

11th: Kathy Cross

12th: Mascelia Robinson

13th: Betty Cody

14th: Mascelia Robinson


15th: Luvina D. George

16th: Schantel Minton

17th: Dessie P. Mathews

18th: Cheryl Sabb

19th: Schantel Minton

20th: Angela Spears


21st: Tosha McNeil Hawkins

22nd:  Michelle J. Banks


bottom of page